Daisy J. Hudson Scholarship

June 7, 2019

CONTACT: Dr. Stuart Styles (805) 756-2429


Cal Poly Awards Daisy J. Hudson Scholarship to 29 Students


SAN LUIS OBISPO — On May 25, 2019 at the 2018-19 Agricultural Engineering Society End of the Year Banquet, 21 current and eight incoming Cal Poly San Luis Obispo students from the BioResource & Agricultural Engineering (BRAE) department were awarded the Daisy J. Hudson Agricultural Irrigation Career Scholarship for the upcoming (2019-20) academic year. The scholarship is awarded annually to those studying BioResource and Agricultural Engineering or Agricultural Systems Management (ASM) with excellent overall GPAs who either renewed the scholarship from previous years or are receiving the scholarship for the first time this year. In 2019, $57,600 was awarded to current students and an additional $10,800 to incoming students, bringing the scholarship total to $68,400.


Daisy J. Hudson was a life-long resident of Porterville in Tulare County, who served as General Manager of the Sausalito Irrigation District and had exceptional career experience in the agricultural and water industry. Daisy believed whole-heartedly that agriculture's two most important assets are water and people. Her appreciation for women in the industry and Cal Poly attendees from a rural background led her to establish the Agricultural Irrigation Career Scholarship at Cal Poly, called the Daisy J. Hudson Scholarship. Initially, the scholarship was intended to be given to only those who grew up in the Tulare and Kings Counties area, but has since expanded to other deserving students within the department.


The scholarship provides needs-based financial assistance to hard-working students who intend to pursue active careers related to water after their undergraduate studies in the areas of irrigation, water science, or water engineering at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo.

Incoming students from Tulare and Kings Counties who will be attending Cal Poly and studying either BRAE or ASM in the fall of 2019 also received the scholarship. For more information about the scholarships or the BRAE department’s water programs, please contact Dr. Stuart Styles at sstyles@calpoly.edu.


Continuing student recipients in 2019: Anthony Augusto, Chad Tenbrink, Christian Dutra, Cody Wurzel, Drew Gobby, Eli Somers, Emily Kuzmicky, Emily Passey, Erika Gomez, Garon Gostanian, Jacob Cardoza, Josh Porter, Lindsey Sciacca, Matthew Caviglia, Megan Logan, Nicholas Austin, Peton Fernandes, Ryan Emory, Stepahn Esajian, Theron Dutra, and Tyler Esteves. 

Incoming student recipients in 2019: Blake Gendron, Jonah Nester, Garrin Schaap, Edna Villicana, Marshall Moons, Gabriella Monreal, Alex Fontes, and Clayton Van Groningen. 

Related Content