Agricultural Engineering Society (AES)

AES is the official club for the BioResource and Agricultural Engineering Department at Cal Poly. The club has many activities that are held throughout the year. Every Thursday from 11 am to 12 pm on the BRAE ramp, AES hosts a student run barbecue for their members to get together, socialize, and have a good meal. AES holds general monthly meetings to update members on current events throughout the department, College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, College of Engineering, the University and the community. At these meeting a guest speaker from industry is invited to show students what a career after college may look like. The meetings also are designed to enhance the professional development of our members and include a great dinner provided by the barbeque chairs. Club members have the opportunity to attend many events outside of the University, such as various conferences, volunteer opportunities, and showcases to promote the department.

We also have representatives that attend  ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) sectional and national meetings.

Events

Tractor Pull

AES also puts on a tractor pull on the Cal Poly campus during Open House each spring. The funds raised by this event are then used to supply scholarships to BRAE students.

Activities

To keep things fun the club puts on several social activities. For example, during the month of October, the club participates in the Great AgVentures, the Great Pumpkin Weigh-Off at the SLO Thursday Farmer's Market, Farm City Night at Farmer's Market, quarterly social activities.

 

Schedule

Officer Meeting every Tuesday at 6pm in Building 8-122

Please check the calendar below for a list of upcoming meetings. All meetings start at 6pm in Building 8A Lab 1 (unless otherwise announced).


Fall Quarter:

  • AES 1st General Meeting - October 3, 2018
  • AES 2nd General Meeting – November 7, 2018
  • AES 3rd General Meeting – November 28, 2018

Winter Quarter:

  • AES 4th General Meeting – February 6, 2019
  • AES BRAE Career Fair - February 7, 2019 from 8 - 12 pm 
  • AES 5th General Meeting – 
  • AES 6th General Meeting – 

Spring Quarter:

  • AES 7th General Meeting (Officer Nominations) – 
  • AES 8th General Meeting (Officer Elections) – 
  • AES End of Year Banquet - 

 

We hope to see you there! Feel free to contact any of the officers listed below if you have any questions about Agricultural Engineering Society activities or membership. 

 

AES Officers
Office Name Email
President Derek Uemura duemura@calpoly.edu
Vice President Emily Passey epassey@calpoly.edu
Secretary Mary Hambly mehambly@calpoly.edu
Treasurer Lucas Jackson ljacks04@calpoly.edu
Reporter Daniel Herrera dherre06@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Luke Reilly lpreilly@calpoly.edu
Special Events Jesse Wilson jwils103@calpoly.edu
Communications  Mikaela Jensen mjense07@calpoly.edu
Career Fair Megan Caird mcaird@calpoly.edu
SWE Rep Megan Campbell mcampb25@calpoly.edu
Tractor Pull President Bradley Livingston beliving@calpoly.edu
ASABE Officers
Office Name Email
President Ryan Emory remory@calpoly.edu
Vice President Chris Oneal cdoneal@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Tyler Tsuji ttsuji@calpoly.edu
National Rep Conor McGovern connorjmg1@gmail.com
SMB Officers
Office Name Email
President Kyle Chambers kychambe@calpoly.edu
Vice President Ethan Jones ejones35@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Libby Sanders esande03@calpoly.edu

 

Related Content