Agricultural Engineering Society (AES)

AES is the official club for the BioResource and Agricultural Engineering Department at Cal Poly. The club has many activities that are held throughout the year. Every Thursday from 11 am to 12 pm on the BRAE ramp, AES hosts a student run barbecue for their members to get together, socialize, and have a good meal. AES holds general monthly meetings to update members on current events throughout the department, College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, College of Engineering, the University and the community. At these meeting a guest speaker from industry is invited to show students what a career after college may look like. The meetings also are designed to enhance the professional development of our members and include a great dinner provided by the barbeque chairs. Club members have the opportunity to attend many events outside of the University, such as various conferences, volunteer opportunities, and showcases to promote the department.

We also have representatives that attend  ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) sectional and national meetings.

Events

Tractor Pull

AES also puts on a tractor pull on the Cal Poly campus during Open House each spring. The funds raised by this event are then used to supply scholarships to BRAE students.

Activities

To keep things fun the club puts on several social activities. For example, during the month of October, the club participates in the Great AgVentures, the Great Pumpkin Weigh-Off at the SLO Thursday Farmer's Market, Farm City Night at Farmer's Market, quarterly social activities.

 

Schedule

For 2020-2021 all meetings are virtual.


Fall Quarter:

  • TBD

Winter Quarter:

  • TBD

Spring Quarter:

  • TBD

 

We hope to see you there! Feel free to contact any of the officers listed below if you have any questions about Agricultural Engineering Society activities or membership. 

 

AES Officers
Office Name Email
President Ethan Jones ejones35@calpoly.edu
Vice President Ryan Vived rvived@calpoly.edu
Secretary Michaela Sewell masewell@calpoly.edu
Treasurer Ian Reece ireece@calpoly.edu
Reporter Megan Campbell mcampb25@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Luis Villanueva lvilla04@calpoly.edu
Special Events    
Communications     
Career Fair Garrison Quinn gpquinn@calpoly.edu
SWE Rep    
Tractor Pull President Anthony Musch amusch@calpoly.edu
ASABE Officers
Office Name Email
President    
Vice President Josh Porter jdporter@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep    
National Rep    
SMB Officers
Office Name Email
President Molli Method mmethod@calpoly.edu
Vice President Courtney Creighton creighto@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep    

 

Related Content