Agricultural Engineering Society (AES)

AES is the official club for the BioResource and Agricultural Engineering Department at Cal Poly. The club has many activities that are held throughout the year. Every Thursday from 11 am to 12 pm on the BRAE ramp, AES hosts a student run barbecue for their members to get together, socialize, and have a good meal. AES holds general monthly meetings to update members on current events throughout the department, College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, College of Engineering, the University and the community. At these meeting a guest speaker from industry is invited to show students what a career after college may look like. The meetings also are designed to enhance the professional development of our members and include a great dinner provided by the barbeque chairs. Club members have the opportunity to attend many events outside of the University, such as various conferences, volunteer opportunities, and showcases to promote the department.

We also have representatives that attend  ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) sectional and national meetings.

Events

Tractor Pull

AES also puts on a tractor pull on the Cal Poly campus during Open House each spring. The funds raised by this event are then used to supply scholarships to BRAE students.

Activities

To keep things fun the club puts on several social activities. For example, during the month of October, the club participates in the Great AgVentures, the Great Pumpkin Weigh-Off at the SLO Thursday Farmer's Market, Farm City Night at Farmer's Market, quarterly social activities.

 

Schedule

Officer Meeting every Tuesday at 6pm in Building 8-122

Please check the calendar below for a list of upcoming meetings. All meetings start at 6pm in Building 8A Lab 1 (unless otherwise announced).


Fall Quarter:

  • AES 1st General Meeting - October 2, 2019
  • AES 2nd General Meeting – November 6, 2019
  • AES 3rd General Meeting – December 4, 2019

Winter Quarter:

  • AES 4th General Meeting – February 5, 2020
  • AES BRAE Career Fair - February 6, 2020 from 8 - 12 pm 
  • AES 5th General Meeting – March 4, 2020

Spring Quarter:

  • AES 6th General Meeting (Officer Nominations) – TBD, 2020
  • AES 7th General Meeting (Officer Elections) – TBD, 2020
  • AES End of Year Banquet - May 16, 2020

 

We hope to see you there! Feel free to contact any of the officers listed below if you have any questions about Agricultural Engineering Society activities or membership. 

 

AES Officers
Office Name Email
President Ryan Emory remory@calpoly.edu
Vice President Mikaela Jensen mjense07@calpoly.edu
Secretary Megan Campbell mcampb25@calpoly.edu
Treasurer Grant Doerksen gdoerkse@calpoly.edu
Reporter Luke Reilly lpreilly@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Luis Villanueva lvilla04@calpoly.edu
Special Events Megan Logan mlogan01@calpoly.edu
Communications  Megan Caird mcaird@calpoly.edu
Career Fair Bradley Livingston beliving@calpoly.edu
SWE Rep Michaela Sewell masewell@calpoly.edu
Tractor Pull President Daphne Schwartz dschwa04@calpoly.edu
ASABE Officers
Office Name Email
President Mary Hambly mehambly@calpoly.edu
Vice President Anthony Musch amusch@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Jose Amezcua jcamezcu@calpoly.edu
National Rep Luke Jackson ljacks04@calpoly.edu
SMB Officers
Office Name Email
President Ethan Jones ejones35@calpoly.edu
Vice President Ian Reece ireece@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Molli Method mmethod@calpoly.edu

 

Related Content