Agricultural Engineering Society (AES)

AES is the official club for the BioResource and Agricultural Engineering Department at Cal Poly. The club has many activities that are held throughout the year. Every Thursday from 11 am to 12 pm on the BRAE ramp, AES hosts a student run barbecue for their members to get together, socialize, and have a good meal. AES holds general monthly meetings to update members on current events throughout the department, College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, College of Engineering, the University and the community. At these meeting a guest speaker from industry is invited to show students what a career after college may look like. The meetings also are designed to enhance the professional development of our members and include a great dinner provided by the barbeque chairs. Club members have the opportunity to attend many events outside of the University, such as various conferences, volunteer opportunities, and showcases to promote the department.

We also have representatives that attend  ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) sectional and national meetings.

Events

Tractor Pull

AES also puts on a tractor pull on the Cal Poly campus during Open House each spring. The funds raised by this event are then used to supply scholarships to BRAE students.

Activities

To keep things fun the club puts on several social activities. For example, during the month of October, the club participates in the Great AgVentures, the Great Pumpkin Weigh-Off at the SLO Thursday Farmer's Market, Farm City Night at Farmer's Market, quarterly social activities.

 

Schedule 2021-22:


Fall Quarter:

  • October 13, 2021 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1
  • November 17, 2021 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1

Winter Quarter:

  • January 19, 2022 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1
  • February 19, 2022 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1
  • March 16, 2022 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1

Spring Quarter:

  • April 20, 2022 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1
  • May 18, 2022 - 6 pm in 8A - Lab 1

 

We hope to see you there! Feel free to contact any of the officers listed below if you have any questions about Agricultural Engineering Society activities or membership. 

 

AES Officers
Office Name Email
President Ryan Vived rvived@calpoly.edu
Vice President Gabriella Monreal ghmonrea@calpoly.edu
Secretary Erika Sos esos@calpoly.edu
Treasurer Adam Rantz rantz@calpoly.edu
Reporter Sarah Marks smarks01@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Devan Gomes djgomes@calpoly.edu
Special Events Theron Dale tldale@calpoly.edu
Communications  Gretchen Ming gming@calpoly.edu
Career Fair Josh Porter jdporter@calpoly.edu
SWE Rep Ellie Angold emangold@calpoly.edu
Tractor Pull President Luis Villanueva lvilla04@calpoly.edu
ASABE Officers
Office Name Email
President Patrick Stodden pstodden@calpoly.edu
Vice President Anwar Mustafa ammustaf@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Michael Jorgensen mjorge05@calpoly.edu
National Rep    
SMB Officers
Office Name Email
President Bianca Sams bsams@calpoly.edu
Vice President Abby Pardue apardue@calpoly.edu
CAFES Council Rep Ben Zanger bzanger@calpoly.edu

 

Related Content